“Borat Subsequent Moviefilm““Judas and the Black Messiah” “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” “Mank” “Minari” “Nomadland”“One Night In Miami” “Promising Young Woman” “Sound Of Metal” “The Trial of the Chicago 7” Of course, one or two of these movies will have to be sidelined when Oscar nominations are announced on January 13th. There are usually 7-9 spots reserved for the Best Picture category, depending on aggregates and percentages in voting, so, if I were a betting man, I would scratch off “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm,” which was the big shocker nominee. I wrote about Borat 2 when it got released last fall, calling it a “flat attempt at satire in the age of social media.” The films that seem to be locked for a Best Picture nomination are those that landed both SAG Ensemble and PGA nominations. This year, those films happen to be “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” “The Trial of the Chicago 7,” “Minari” and “One Night in Miami.” This morning’s list of nominees came as very bad news for snubbed films such as “The Father,” “Da 5 Bloods,” “News of the World,” and “Soul.” If I had a say with who the ten Oscar nominees should be, I relay you to Exhibit A aka my 10 best list of 2020. The 32nd Producers Guild of America Awards will be held virtually on March 24, 2021. at 5:00 PT. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy