If you remember, Kent had recently complained about the lack of female directors in competition at this year’s fest, “I think it’s an issue,” Kent said. “I hoped there would be more. I really did.” She added, “There are some incredible women out there making films, and we need to see them, and they need to be in festivals, A-list festivals, and have the opportunity that men are having. All I can do from my perspective is keep making films, no matter how hard it is.” Of course, Kent’s “The Nightingale” was the only film directed by a woman to be part of competition last year. The revenge-thriller was deemed somewhat of a disappointment by critics, but that wasn’t a valid excuse for an Italian member of the press to shout “Shame on you, whore! You Suck!” when Kent’s name appeared on-screen during the final credits. Eventually, Sharif Meghdoud, the person responsible for yelling the obscenity, apologized and said, “I put my face on it and take responsibility.” The current La Biennale di Venezia jury [Source]: Lucrecia Martel - President (Argentina), directorPiers Handling (Canada), historian and criticMary Harron (Canada), directorStacy Martin (UK), actressRodrigo Prieto (Mexico), director of photographyTsukamoto Shinya (Japan), directorPaolo Virzì (Italy), director Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy