Last week I wrote that Abdelatif Kechiche’s “Mektoub, My Love: Intermezzo” might finally be released in French theaters, more than four years after its Cannes premiere. Now, a French journalist is saying that this potential theatrical cut will be snipping the graphic 13-minute cunnilingus scene to just 60 seconds. Yikes. I sure am glad I extended my plane ticket at Cannes 2018 just to catch this film during the penultimate evening of the festival. It was a 10pm showing, the film clocked in at 210 minutes and we left the theater at around 1:30am. Great memories. The director’s cut shown at Cannes will likely never see the light of day, unless Kechiche decides to upload it on a torrent site, much like what Paul Schrader did with his cut of “The Dying of the Light.” Meanwhile, Eric over at IONCINEMA.COM is hearing that Kechiche is already filming a new movie in Tunisia. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy